Skyscraper

woman.

 

 

You can take everything I have 
You can break everything I am
Like I’m made of glass
Like I’m made of paper
Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper, like a skyscraper

Another one of my favorite quotes is from Papa Roach: “our scars remind us that the past is real”. Scars do remind us that the past is real; every scar on our heart has a story just as scars on our bodies have one. The only difference is the scars on our hearts aren’t visible. It is so easy to judge people, the way they dress, the way they look, the way they act. But what most people don’t realize is that everyone has had challenges and heartaches and triumphs and failures. It’s part of human nature to judge others, it’s our way of categorizing people that we don’t know into something that makes sense to us, stereotyping. People don’t go walking around flaunting their mistakes and flaws or the hurt that they’ve felt. I know I sure haven’t.

You show me your’s, I’ll show you mine. As Eminem would say: “But you’d have to walk a thousand miles; In my shoes, just to see; What it’s like, to be me; I’ll be you, let’s trade shoes;  Just to see what it’d be like to; Feel your pain, you feel mine; Go inside each other’s minds; Just to see what we find..” I would never ask anyone to trade shoes with me to feel the pain and experiences I’ve gone through. Just as I would not want to live through anyone else’s. We all have pain. We all grow. We all change.

The picture above is so inspiring to me because every woman (and man) goes through so much in a lifetime: breakups, losing jobs, economic hardships, family drama, death, and so much more. But every time we’re knocked down, we rebuild ourselves into a stronger person. And to those who have hurt me, “go head and try to tear me down, I’ll be rising from the ground like a skyscraper”.  And one day I will have the confidence to say that I have rebuilt myself into a stronger me.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

